Josie Makes… a Harry Potter Cross Stitch

Image

I made this Harry Potter stitch using black aida (I’m not sure of the size, I just had a bit in a pack of scraps) and I decided to use metallic gold thread. The thread was really hard to use and it took a long time but I’m really pleased with how it turned out.

I looked at the Harry Potter logo, from the films, and used graph paper to draw it out in squares and half squares etc.

Image

I can’t quite remember how I first learnt how to Cross Stitch but I think it must have been instructions in the pattern I had bought. Patterns are great because they include the material and the threads too. Cross Stitch is easy once you get used to it and I just started to do my own like this one. If you google how to cross stitch I’m sure you will find instructions that make sense for you. I think sometimes it’s easier to watch a video so you could also search on youtube.

This video is one of the first when you google how to cross stitch, so hopefully it would be helpful for beginners!- http://www.5min.com/Video/How-to-Cross-Stitch-In-5-Minutes-8253

Josie xxx

9 Comments

Filed under Craft & DIY

9 responses to “Josie Makes… a Harry Potter Cross Stitch

  1. Wow! That’s a wonderful job. 🙂

  2. absolutelycheryl

    It’s so lovely! I like it a lot! 🙂

  3. Nini

    looooooove it!

  4. So_LDC

    I love cross stitch AND love Harry Potter
    Nice one 🙂

  5. LOVE HARRY POTTER READ HIS BOOKS ALL THE TIME WATCH ALL THE MOVIES EVERY WEEK HAVE HIS WALLPAPER LOVE THE CROSS STICH

  6. OH I love this! Do you ever send out or share your patterns? And how do I follow your blog?

    • Hi, thanks for your comment! I haven’t sent out or shared any patterns as usually like this one they are copyrighted by the company that owns the logo so it is just allowed for personal use. For ones of my own design like the mermaid I just draw pictures/writing etc onto graph paper as you can see in one of the pictures above, if you just draw a picture onto graph paper and then fill in the squares that you have drawn lines through that usually works for me! Then you can edit a bit.
      I think you can follow it if you have a wordpress account yourself 🙂
      Thanks again, Josie x

  7. Thanks everyone for the comments 🙂

  8. khairani

    i like it.. good job..:)

Leave a Reply

