Make It Yourself- Fabric Covered Noticeboard

Welcome! To the first of my new series of blog posts called #MIY- Make It Yourself!

Ideas on how to customise or up-cycle simple things into something a bit more special while at the same time looking after the pennies!

A couple of weeks ago I turned our garden summer house into a craft work shop. I did this without spending any extra money, just moving my craft things out there, and using old furniture from around my house. My first #MIY was featured in that post, and it is my fabric covered noticeboard. Amongst the things I found stored in my shed were a few unused noticeboards, but if you don’t have one lying around, these are pretty cheap to buy. I also have stashes of fabrics that I have never gotten round to using, this one I had bought with a dress pattern, but still have no idea how to make clothes! So I thought I would make use of it.

You will need:

  • Noticeboard
  • Fabric of your choice (the size of the board)
  • Fabric scissors
  • A screwdriver/ plastic knife/ plastic model making tool or anything else with a flat but blunt edge.
  • Drawing pins
  • Picture hanging kit and hammer

IMG_0189

Cut the fabric slightly larger than the size of the noticeboard, including the frame.  If your fabric has a pattern make sure you cut it straight so it won’t look wonky! Iron the fabric to take out any creases. Place the fabric on top of the board, the right way up, and use your flat screwdriver or plastic tool to start pushing the edges of the fabric under the frame. Make sure it is pulled tight.

IMG_0194

When you have done this the whole way round, place a drawing pin in each corner to hold it in place. If the fabric seems loose, or the frame isn’t holding it so well, you can create a border the whole way round with your drawing pins.

IMG_0197

Et voila! Simple!

IMG_0201

Hanging the board is easy as it is fairly light so doesn’t need much to hold it up. I just used a pin from a picture hanging kit, and hammered it lightly into the wall, and then balance the frame of the noticeboard on top in the middle, so that it is hanging straight. If the noticeboard is heavier or won’t hang straight, you can use two pins to hold it up at each corner.

IMG_0202IMG_0224

This is my finished board! There’s more on it now, nothing in my life stays this tidy for long!!

I hope you enjoyed this first edition of #MIY Make It Yourself, and enjoy customising your own notice board. If you do make this yourself, let me know by instagramming or blogging and tagging it with #MIY and #josiemakes!

Happy making,

Josie xxx

3 Comments

Filed under Craft & DIY

3 responses to “Make It Yourself- Fabric Covered Noticeboard

  1. creative pixie

    I created something similar last year and I’m tired of the fabric (your small floral print looks cute), maybe it’s time for a change…that’s the great thing about fabric covered boards isn’t it?

    • Exactly! I get tired of things quickly so I love having different things to change about easily. I’m one of those white walls people, its all in the accessories! xxx

      • creative pixie

        I’d love white walls – we’ve been in our house 6 years and I still have a magnolia living room.

Leave a Reply

